Developer Station

Developer Station was created as a free membership website for rural economic developers in North Dakota.  It was launched in July of 2012 to provide a statewide, online collaboration platform. It was updated in 2015, without membership requirements, to continue to serve as a networking and information hub.
The goal is for economic and community developers, particularly those in rural communities or those new to the job, to make new connections, learn about programs and resources and to easily find models that work in North Dakota.

Advisory Committee

Currently we are recruiting people from the developer community who would like to have a say in what goes on at Developer Station. Please contact us if you would like to be included. Nothing too arduous, a group email to connect on ideas, topics and content, one or more people who would like to help admin on Facebook or perhaps help moderate an ‘ideas’ topic in the forum from time to time to increase the participation of others. Contact us


Developer Station was initiated and funded by the Rural Economic Area Partnership Investment Board (REAP). The Great Plains Center for Community Research and Service (GPCCRS) at Minot State University, along with the Cavalier County Job Development Authority (CCJDA) and KAT Communications, implemented the original project. Developer Station is now a collaboration of REAP and Seed Stock Media, LLC.
Developer Station started with a simple vision to impact economic and community developers across the state. The idea began with the Rural Economic Area Partnership Investment Board (REAP) in the summer of 2011.
REAP formed a steering committee, contracted SJB Consulting and interviewed economic developers and staff from agencies across the state. The compiled information revealed that communication, collaboration and regional focus were important to those interviewed. There was also an interest in understanding more efficient ways to hold trainings and meetings and to share information. Participants talked about putting best practices and mentorship opportunities online where anyone in the state with an internet connection could connect with other developers.

Initial Participants

There are many who helped move the Developer Station idea to a reality by sharing their time and insight. Although some of the people originally involved have moved on and are not in the same organizations or positions, we would still like to give credit to the following people and their organizations for participating in the initial work.

MarvinErdmannChairmanBismarck Chapter, Service Corp of Retired Volunteers
DianeOlsonDirectorBottineau Economic Development Corporation
CarolGoodmanExecutive DirectorCavalier County Jobs Development Authority
Dr. LanaRakowDirectorCenter for Community Engagement, UND
LynetteFlageProject Director, HorizonsCenter for Community Vitality, NDSU Extension Service
KathleenTweetenDirectorCenter for Community Vitality, NDSU Extension Service
BruceGovigDirector & Entrepreneur CoachCenter for Innovation
DebEslingerExecutive DirectorCenter for Technology and Business
CindySanfordState Outreach SpecialistCenter for Technology and Business
PaulGriffinDeputy DirectorConsensus Council, Inc.
BeckyMeidingerExecutive DirectorCooperstown/Griggs Economic Dev. Corp.
PaulGovigDirectorDivision of Community Services, North Dakota Department of Commerce
PaulLucyDirectorEconomic Development & Finance Division, North Dakota Department of Commerce
GaylonBakerPresidentEconomic Development Association of North Dakota
CarissaRichterAdministratorEconomic Development Association of North Dakota
PatriciaBowenExecutive DirectorEllendale Jobs Development Authority
Paul D.Markel, PhDCo-DirectorGreat Plains Center for Community Research & Service, Minot State University
PatDownsCooperative Development SpecialistNorth Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives
JoAnnRodenbikerEconomic Development ConsultantNorthern Plains Electric Cooperative
DonFryeEconomic Dev ConsultantOtter Tail Power Company
JimBelquistExecutive DirectorREAP Investment Board
ArtWannerBoard MemberREAP Investment Board
BrendaDissette FosterExecutive DirectorRugby Job Development Authority
ShirleyBrentrupPrincipalSJB Consulting
PattiPerryExecutive DirectorSlope County Job Development Authority
BonWikenheiserState DirectorSmall Business Development Center
MelanieBauer DukartArea SpecialistUSDA Rural Development Dickinson
BillDavisDeputy State DirectorUSDA Rural Development State Office
JoshKramerCommunity Project SpecialistUSDA Rural Development State Office
DaleVan EckhoutBusiness Program DirectorUSDA Rural Development State Office

share your community stories or favorite resources